Evolution of UEFA Euro: From 1960 to 2024

Image Credit: sport.optus.com.au

Explore the evolution of UEFA Euro from its inception in 1960 to the upcoming 2024 tournament in Germany!

In 1960, the Soviet Union won the inaugural UEFA Euro, then called the UEFA Nations Cup. Only four teams competed in this historic event.

Image Credit: the-score-board.com

Birth of UEFA Euro

Image Credit: ru.uefa.com

From Spain’s 1964 triumph to Italy’s 1968 win, the early years featured thrilling matches and legends like Lev Yashin.

The UEFA Euro 1976 was the last with just four teams. Iconic moments like Antonin Panenka's chipped penalty defined the era.

Image Credit: uefa.com

Expansion and Excitement

Image Credit: nytimes.com

By 1984, the tournament had doubled in size. France, led by Michel Platini, won their first title!

UEFA Euro 1996 in England introduced the golden goal, with Germany triumphing. It also expanded to 16 teams, increasing the competition.

Image Credit: standard.co.uk

Modern Era Begins

Image Credit: uefa.com

UEFA Euro 2000 and 2004 were won by France and Greece respectively.

Spain's dominance from 2008 to 2012 and Portugal's 2016 victory showcased Europe's elite. All eyes now turn to Germany for Euro 2024.

Image Credit: thecable.ng

Recent Triumphs and 2024 Hopes